‘Oh Comely’ by Neutral Milk Hotel One of the Greatest Songs Ever?


All day I see my Facebook canvased with Skrillex and Bassnectar and Kaskade and Flux Pavillion and Avicii from morning ’til night. Not gonna front, I love me some Bassnectar (unbelievable live) and Flux Pavillion and I’ve even enjoyed Skrillex at a certain point beyond six or seven beers. Avicii is someone I’ve yet to get into even though I know he’s huge right now and I’ve heard a few of his songs. But there are times when we’ve got to look back and remember the gems from the past, even though it freaks me out to refer to 1998 in that kind of way.

After catching a Kaskade song posted on my Facebook, the first song that came to mind, that I really wanted to listen to, for some reason, was ‘Oh Comely’ by Neutral Milk Hotel. Without a doubt, one of the greatest songs ever recorded. Like, top 10 greatest songs ever recorded. Somewhere up there with ‘Life’s a Bitch’ by Nas and ‘Killing an Arab’ by the Cure. It creeps as close to perfection as music can get. If you listen to that song, and not only don’t like it, but also don’t actually feel it powerfully affect you, you’re favorite artist is probably Hurricane Chris.



Leave a Reply

