The Power of the Sample



The great thing about samples is that they can introduce you to new music that you might not have discovered otherwise. Whenever I hear a song with a sample that peaks my interest, I always research it online to find out where it came from. I consider it to be kind of like a musical six degrees of separation: you never know where it’ll take you or what you’ll find. More recently, I did some digging on a guitar sample from Sleigh Bell’s song “Rill Rill,” and found that it came from a song called “Can You Get to That” by the 70s band Funkadelic. Needless to say, the band was right up my musical alley and they’ve become a regular on my iPod. But I want to know – what music have you discovered through samples?

By Courtney Flynn



Leave a Reply

