Old Earl Sweatshirt Songs, Plus MTV Spoke With Earl and He Said “No More Free Earl?”


Been gettin’ into Earl Sweatshirt’s pre-Odd Future stuff. He was about to release a mixtape called ‘Kitchen Cutlery’ under the name Sly Tendencies before dropping the project and joining Odd Future. Personal I like these songs more then most of his album with Odd Future. He released these at 15. His album with Odd Future at 16.

MTV recently published an article, in which Kelefa Sannah spoke with Thebe’s — Earl — mother, as well as Thebe via email. He revealed that he had not been sent to the Coral Reef Academy against his well, but that the months leading up to his departure were a mess and he needed to get away. Also he spoke about the popular ‘Free Earl’ chant, which can be seen and heard more and more as the OF fanbase grows. He said at first he appreciated it, but now he is asking fans to stop. Here are some quotes from Thebe from the article, which was published on May, 16th.

“Initially I was really pleased that all these people claimed they wanted me released because I thought that translated into ‘they care.’ So time progresses and the fan base gets bigger and the ‘Free Earl’ chants get louder, but now with the ‘Free Earl’ chants come a barely indirect ‘… Earl’s mom’ and in the blink of an eye my worry changes from ‘will there still be this hype when I get back to ‘Oh … I just inspired a widespread movement of people who are dedicated to the downfall of my mom.”

“If you sincerely care then I appreciate the gesture, but since you know the hard facts from the source you no longer need to worry. I miss home. I don’t have any definite date though. Even if I did I don’t know if I’d tell you. You’ll hear from me without a doubt when I’m ready.”

Molliwopped – Earl Sweatshirt

Deerskin – Earl Sweatshirt

Fuck Your Compression ft. Gruzen – Earl Sweatshirt

Dat Ass – Earl Sweatshirt

Brand New – Earl Sweatshirt



Leave a Reply

