City Reign


Its been a while since I’ve posted on tunegrape. I’ve been pretty busy, and the weekend is always a tough time to get on the computer, since although I blog, I do actually have a social life, kind of. So anyway, on the train this morning I was debating whether or not I should post, and if so, then what should I post. That debate didn’t last long though, and instead I ended up sulking in my sorrows, reading about the Knick’s loss to the Celtics last night.

But, luckily, I came across an email from the Manchester, UK, based group City Reign, before I got too lost in my New York Knicks misery. They sent me an email because of a post I had written on Yuck awhile ago, and of course since I love Yuck, I had to check City Reign out as well.

First of all, you have to respect their marketing tactics, straight up emailing blogs and being proactive. The hard work and Internet based networking that’s necessary today. The music of course, is what is important though, and the music is great. An atmospheric wall of sound based network of guitars builds a solid foundation for the intertwining melodies that defines City Reign’s music.

The honest lyrics bring me back to 1990’s indie music, which, at the time, was seeping bands who had grown out of the melodic hardcore movement, bands like the Promise Ring, and Sunny Day Real Estate, Jawbreaker and all that. Something like that lost within the dreamy distortion of and dynamics of My Bloody Valentine or Dinosaur Jr.. City Reign carries with them the unmistakable mark of childhoods in the 90s, immersed in the technical and lyrically complex music that laid just below the surface, as well as an appreciation for the more popular grunge and shoegaze bands of the times.

I don’t want to make it sound like City Reign is lost in the 90s though. They’re not, they take all the good and build upon it. They still have the sound of a young band, who will age into something better if given the time and effort. The music they’re making now is nothing short of promising and and oozing with fuzz, poetry and emerging talent.

Daybreak  – City Reign

City Reign’s single, Daybreak is set to be released on May 9th. Their previous single, Making Plans was released in September through their label Car Boot Records, and has been receiving airplay on XFM and BBC6.

City Reign MySpace

City Reign Facebook



Leave a Reply

