Who Knew Skinny White Girls Who Graduated from Stanford Good Rap So Well?


Over the past year or so, I’ve been spreading around the word about K. Flay. I can only name a couple of people who listen to the California based rapper on a regular basis, but I take some comfort in knowing I’m at least, not the only K. Flay fan on campus. I even have a K. Flay sticker on her laptop (look for the purple crown on her laptop in the video below). And I am a huge fan, her raps are intelligent and lighthearted, her ability to tell stories through her humorous and insightful wordplay is hard to find.

 

If you’re a fan of big Nicki Minaj, either prepare to have your mind blown by an infinitely more intelligent and talented rapper, or prepare to be disappointed since you don’t seem to have a very good taste in music. I got an email today from K. Flay’s newsletter, and apparently she’s releasing her next mixtape, “I Stopped Caring in ’96” in bundles throughout the month of April begining on the 1st.

She also performed for Billboard’s Mashup Mondays. Using the Zombie’s “Time of the Season”, a song which I never really paid much attention to, since I can only guess it was way before my time, but its actually a great song. Really, wow that’s a great song. Anyway, K. Flay shows off on her drum machine for a bit, before setting up a loop to play. Afterwards she does what she does best, singing for a little bit, before flowing into her rap. Her vocals are pretty soft, and you can tell she holds back from really letting loose. While that bothered me a bit, and seemed to take from the flow of the song, I do like the sound of her voice like that.

For some reason WordPress isn’t letting me embed a YouTube video right now, but check the song out here.

For more from K. Flay’s day at Billboard, go here: K. Flay Reawakens the Zombies

 



Leave a Reply

