Drake Shows Kendrick Lamar Some Love


I’m a little late to this, but Courtney just turned me on to a post featuring Kendrick Lamar on Drake’s blog, posted a couple days ago. Now anyone who knows me knows that, besides a few songs, I’m really not a fan of Drakes. I think he’s wildly inconsistent, and while he does release some great tunes, most of it is garbage.

But, anyone who knows me, and anyone who reads this blog also knows, that I truly and honestly believe Compton rapper Kendrick Lamar is one of the best rappers in the game, not like Wiz Khalifa is one of the best rappers in the game cause I enjoy his music, but like how Mos Def or Common are the best because they are lyrically poetic and truthful and have an impeccable choice of beats [and I enjoy their music]. This kid is no Mos Def or Common rip off though, Kendrick Lamar (formerly K. Dot) is the real thing. He’s getting love from Drake, he’s taking the Datpiff.com/blogosphere by storm, and he’s due to be featured on Dr. Dre’s “Detox”, the only reason I’m looking forward to that album after “I Need A Doctor”.

I’m telling all of you, right now, I’ve said it a million times, but I’ll say it a million and one, maybe even a million and two, Kendrick Lamar will blow up. If he does not blow up, my faith in mainstream music will be shattered and I will officially believe that the general American public is as about intelligent, as a whole, as a rock. And not a pet rock, or a cool shiny rock, just some misshapen, ugly one.



Leave a Reply

